Mediterranean Pesto

Basil Pictures, Images and Photos

I first tasted Pesto in a Trattoria in a little Italian  seaside village on a balmy summer evening. I will always associate Basil, the main ingredient in Pesto, with Italy.
So I turn there to bring you a delicious recipe in the middle of an intense winter. The original version has cheese and pine nuts. Both are missing from my own absolute favorite version. It is full of super healthy ingredients from the Meditteranean region.

1 bunch basil

1 -2 cloves garlic

2 tbsps stone crushed olive oil (I use Zatoun)

1/3 cup soaked walnuts – (I have tried all nuts in a pesto and love it best with walnuts)

1/4 lemon, squeezed

If you have a mortar and pestle you can use that to blend all the ingredients together. You can also get instant results with a hand held blender.

I can eat this on its own. Here more tips to enjoy Pesto:

Spread on crackers or pizza.

Use it on zuchinni pasta

As a dressing on salads

Delicious as a dip

Top a sliced avocado and/or tomatoes

Mmmmh……… delicioso!

Enjoy while listening to an Italian Serenade.

3 Comments »

  1. Genie said

    Yummy! I will try it! Thank you! 🙂

  2. Lorra said

    mmm this sounds yummeh

  3. Serena said

    OH YES! YUMMY! I will send this link on to my daughter…..she has been growing a herb garden since Christmas and has a mortar and pestle too. Perfect! THANK YOU!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

