Simple Abundance

simplicity Pictures, Images and Photos

Over 3 years  ago I set out to live the Simple Life. Declutter on an emotional, physical and mental level and make space for what really matters. It has been an incredible journey and one that is ongoing. I am loving it.

Life by its nature is infinitely abundant. How to even begin to choose and not be come overwhelmed by all the choices. Being crystal clear about who you want to be is such an important part of our journey. Silence and reflection are a vital link to this knowledge deep inside of us.

Winter just calls for turning inwards and connecting with our Inner Star. My Inner Compass is orienteted towards JOY! The more I have let go the more abundant my life has become.

Here are some of my favorite quotes from Henry David Thoreau on living a Simple Life.

Simplify, simplify.

Pursue some path, however narrow and crooked, in which you can walk with love and reverence.

Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake.

Do what you love. Know your own bone; gnaw at it, bury it, unearth it, and gnaw it still.

Why should we be in such desperate haste to succeed, and in such desperate enterprises? If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer.

What you get by achieving your goals is as important as what you become by achieving your goals.

What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters compared to what lives within us.

Wealth is the ability to fully experience life.

The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.

My next blogposts will be on some of the little changes I am making in 2009.

3 Comments »

  1. Genie said

    Decluttering the emotional seems to be one of the biggest jobs. Just when you think it’s all clear, up pops something else to challenge your serenity. Here’s to uninterrupted serenity 🙂

  2. dawnsrays said

    Thoreau was a brilliant man, wasn’t he? I get inspired when I read his writings and I am just amazed at how on point he was.

    “The more I have let go the more abundant my life has become.” This is wonderful, Fatma! I will write it down and meditate on it, seeing as how my word of the year is Abundance. Thank you!!

    Peace~
    Dawn

  3. sophiashouse said

    Hi Fatma,

    What a lovely blog. I’m so glad to have discovered it through 12 secrets. I’m all about de cluttering this year. We moved into a smaller home, gave away hundreds of items, changed our “look” at home to minimalism…all to birth more space for living, for what lies within the present moment. The stuff gets in the way of that.

    I love your point about the importance of silence and reflection to tune into what we truly want and can let go of. Lately I’ve found it very helpful to do a mind-map for every 4-6 weeks of my life – with all the major projects and activities that will be part of my life during that period. Through the process, I get to see on one page what will be in the space of my life (but not in a calendar or to do list, which is too linear a format for me). As I reflect, lots of things end up getting taken off the map to create space for reflection and to do well the things that are on the map. I work on a few drafts – checking in internally as I tease out what’s most important and juicy for the period coming up.

    Thanks for the inspiration, and take care.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

