Soul Coaching – Day 19

good life Pictures, Images and Photos

Embracing your Life

Hmmm… Today is a day to think about death.  I first came face to face with death in Uganda at the age of 9 when my family was surrounded by soldiers and held at gun point. It was a miracle we survived. I almost drowned at the age of 13 and  I have survived a serious car accident. I am not scared of death.

3 years ago my Dad died. He went very peacefully. I feel blessed to have had him as my Dad. I remember him everyday in a happy way. My favorite line on death is the last line in a prayer by St. Francis of Assissi: for in dying we awaken to eternal life. This is the prayer I shared with my Dad on his last visit to Toronto. When we were growing up he taught us to always remember death for then you lived life more mindfully.

The question I ask myself as I live is: How can I love more? How can I serve more?

6 Comments »

  1. Lisa said

    This is wonderful. You have faced so much and come out so strong and brave – I love that. And you end a post about death asking how to love and serve more – beautiful. Thanks

  2. dawnsrays said

    Just beautiful! that is the spirit, for sure: remember death so you can live more mindfully. I am going to write that in my book of quotes! Thank you!!
    Peace~
    Dawn

  3. Serena said

    You are truly an inspiration, Fatma.

    I guess thinking about death would make you appreciate your life all the more. I’m not afraid of death and, if there is no other way, I will embrace it. I too, believe we are part of something so much bigger than our human forms.

    love, light and peace,
    serena

  4. aurora fox said

    nice…

  5. So moving and beautiful. I also try to focus on the living. Death will take care of itself.

  6. Jamie said

    How wonderful your relationship with your dad is such a source of inspiration. He lives on with you.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

