Goji berries

Goji Berries

 I have not written about food for a while. Today I want to tell you how much I love Goji berries. These vibrant red berries from China or Tibet have a tangy taste that is addictive. Many of my clients do not care for it and my sister will not even touch it. But when I start I cannot stop. Tomorrow I will post the nutritional rundown on this superfood. Today I am giving you some ideas of how to use it.

Sometimes I like to make a sunflower goji smoothie. I soak 1-2 tbsp of sunflower seeds and goji berries and blend it with some water to make a smoothie. It is bright red orange and I love it. Yesterday I decided to add hemp seeds to this blend and I did not like it. Hmm, what to do? I poured half of the blend into a bowl, added a cut up banana and a truffle (hazelnuts, dates, almond butter, vanilla, cinnamon) I had made the day before. Mmmh, that was good. To the rest of the blend I added garlic and herbs and made salad dressing and that was good too. So play with your food and get creative. You will surprise yourself with what you create.

Other ways to use goji berries:

Add to trail mix or just use one seed like sunflower seed or pumpkin seed for  a dose of power minerals

Add it to your raw smoothies or juices

Sprinkle on your raw muesli or cereal

Use them in your energy bars

Add them to your herbal tea or ice tea

Make ice cream with them

Sprinkle them on your salad

Decorate your pies with their vibrancy

For a variation in taste, soak the goji berries in fresh orange juice, water with lemon, a drop of lemon or orange essential oil

Eat straight from the bag and do not stop until you are done (oops that is just for me, you can only have 2 handfuls)

I will be travelling to Africa next month and I will definitely be having goji berries in my handbag. Should I encounter you, I will gladly share them with you. 🙂

If you want to know a bit more about me, check out my profile at Start up princess. It is a fabulous site for women entrepreneurs.

Love

Fatma

3 Comments »

  1. Shemin said

    Hi Fatma

    I must say initially I was not sure of these “goji berries” however I just LOVE them now! Thanks for giving us more ideas.

    God Bless.

  2. loverawfood said

    Shemin, I like the LOVE!

    XO
    Fatma

  3. […] Here is some more Goji inspiration from an earlier post. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment