The best year ever

2008

A new day – a new year. I woke up to a new world all covered in snow. A beautiful winter landscape. All the majestic trees around my house are covered in fluffy white. I feel gratitude for so very much.

The first thing I saw in my inbox was a New Year greeting from my friend Yasmin. It had the following poem that I am sharing with you here.

A Way to a Happy New Year

To leave the old with a burst of song

To recall the right and forgive the wrong;

To forget the thing that binds you fast

To the vain regrets of the year’s past;

To have the strength to let go your hold

Of the not worthwhile of the days grown old,

To dare to go forth with a purpose true,

To the unknown task of the year that’s new;

To help your brother (and sister – my note) along the road

To do his work and lift his load

To add your gift to the world’s good cheer,

Is to have and give a Happy New Year.

Robert Brewster Beattie

I would like to thank all of you who send beautiful inspiration my way.

I celebrate this present moment and rejoice in all the ones to come.

A very Happy New Year to all of you and may it be the best year of your life.

Fatma

3 Comments »

  1. That’s so funny… not only did we choose the same image but also I was going to write a poem myself but just didn’t have the time!

    Happy New Year!

  2. Neeta said

    Thanks for sharing this lovely poem Fatma, you are a real inspiration to everyone with your douceur, compassion and love for life…..
    A very very Happy New Year to you, my friend…..
    Neeta

  3. Shemin said

    What a beautiful poem! Thank you so much for sharing Fatma. Have a blessed 2008!

    love & light,
    Shemin

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

