My house of belonging

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Today it is 10 years since I first came to Canada. To a country and a house that did not feel like home. Much has happened in this 10 years including the home birth of my daughter Safia. My house feels like home now with a lot of my love vibrating thoughout. It is where I see my clients, where I share food with my family and friends and where my soul houses for now. I came across the following poem a few years ago in a book by Sarah Ban Breathnach. It is by David Whyte.  I am sharing this poem with you as it describes how I feel. My house of belonging is a celtic phrase meaning that your body houses your soul. My house of belonging means feeling fulfilled by a strong sense of belonging to yourself.

My house of belonging

“I awoke this morning in the gold light turning this way and that

thinking for a moment it was one day like any other.

But the veil had gone from my darkened heart and I thought

it must have been the quiet candlelight that filled my room,

it must have been the first easy rhythm with which I breathed myself to sleep,

it must have been the prayer I said speaking to the otherness of the night. 

This is the day you realize how easily the thread is broken between this world and the next.

And I found myself sitting up in the quiet pathway of light,

the tawny close grained cedar burning round me like a fire and all the angels of this housely heaven ascending through the first roof of light the sun has made.

This is the bright home in which I live, this is where I ask my friends to come, this is where I want to love all the things it has taken me so long to learn to love.

This is the temple of my adult aloneness and I belong to that aloneness as I belong to my life.

There is no house like the house of belonging.”

May you be blessed with a house of belonging.

Fatma

2 Comments »

  1. Sakina said

    Fa,
    This poem is a very beautifull one, I really see you in this poem.

    Love
    SU

  2. […] Here is a previous post I had written on the house of belonging. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

