Durian – the King of Fruits

img_7488.jpg

I remember as a child in Africa running in the other direction when my parents ate durian. What a smell.  So I never tasted durian until recently when my sister who loves them bought me one as she knew I wanted to  try this king of fruits. What can I say,  I ended up eating most of it. It has so many layers of taste sensations. Soft, silky, creamy custard with hints of caramel and almonds. Who says raw food is not addictive? Durian is superlicious. Not every Durian is good. Like other fruits you can get a really good one or a not so very good one. I hope when you try one, you will find a terrific one.

Due to the pungent smell the shell is immediately removed from the house. Hotels in South Asia do not allow people to bring in Durians. Many people do not try Durian because of this smell. Durian is a jungle fruit best enjoyed outdoors.

Chantaburi province in Thailand is the durian capital of the world. Thailand produces one million tons of durians per year! Half of those are from Chantaburi. They also hold a World Durian Festival once an year and many exotic fruits including durian are used to build artistic fruit floats on the lake of Chantaburi.

 Jungle creatures like elephants and tigers love durian. The durian fruit is one of the largest  tree fruit in the world. It can weigh upto 10 lbs.  It is considered an aphrodisiac. It also contains high levels of trytophan , an amino acid that raises serotonin levels in the brain leading to a euphoric feeling. Tryptophan is also helpful with anxiety and insomnia. Durian is also high in raw fats, sulfur and protein making it a beauty food. Besides the nutritional value, durians are considered to have powerful life force energy. The durian tree is a strong and  powerful majestic tree that dies from damage and not age.

You will find frozen or fresh durian at some Asian Grocery Stores or in Chinatown. My sister buys them at No Frills.

Try this exquisite fruit and experience the bliss.

 Did you notice that the buddha crown resembles the durian fruit?

Fatma

1 Comment »

  1. […] “I remember as a child in Africa running in the other direction when my parents ate durian. What a smell.  So I never tasted durian until recently when my sister who loves them bought me one as she knew I wanted to  try this king of fruits. What can I say,  I ended up eating most of it. It has so many layers of taste sensations. Soft, silky, creamy custard with hints of caramel and almonds. Who says raw food is not addictive? Durian is superlicious. Not every Durian is good. Like other fruits you can get a really good one or a not so very good one. I hope when you try one, you will find a terrific one. […] It is considered an aphrodisiac. It also contains high levels of trytophan , an amino acid that raises serotonin levels in the brain leading to a euphoric feeling. […] The durian tree is a strong and  powerful majestic tree that dies from damage and not age. […] Try this exquisite fruit and experience the bliss. (Fatma) […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

